WORK SESSION CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF NASHVILLE COUNTY OF BERRIEN SEPTEMBER 1, 2020

ROLL CALL: Members of the City Council present included Mayor Pro-Tem John Clayton and Aldermen Scott Stalnaker, Billy Retterbush, Antonio Carter, Walt Steward, Eric Gaither

STAFF PRESENT: Mandy Luke, Jackie Jordan, Chief Edwards, John Reynolds, Peter Schultz, Henry Yawn, Mitchell Moore

HISTORIC PRESERVATION COMMISSION:

The work session regarding the Historic Preservation Commission began at 6:30 p.m. immediately following the Fiscal Year 2021 Budget Workshop meeting.

City Attorney Mitchell Moore stated the Mayor had contacted him and asked him to relay a message to the Council asking they table the discussion since he is sick and unable to attend, although no official action can be taken in the work session.

Upon a question from Antonio Carter, there was a brief discussion regarding the language of the proposed changes of the Ordinance pertaining to the Historic Preservation Commission which reads as follows:

"The Commission shall consist of [not less than three (3)] [nor more than] five (5) members appointed [by the mayor] and [ratified by] council. All members shall be residents of the City of Nashville [or an owner] [or operator] of a business located within and licensed by the City of Nashville. [Not less than three (3) of said members] shall be persons who have demonstrated special interest, experience, training or education in history, architecture, or the preservation of historic resources.

[To the extent available], at least three (3) members shall be appointed from among professionals in the disciplines of architecture, history, architectural history, planning, archaeology or related professions.

Members shall serve three-year terms. Members may not serve more than two (2) consecutive terms. In order to achieve staggered terms, initial

appointments shall be; one (1) member for one (1) year; two (2) members for two (2) years; and two (2) members for three (3) years. Members shall not receive a salary, although they may be reimbursed for expenses.

[Members shall serve three-year terms which shall be renewed automatically unless the commission member notifies the mayor and council and tenders his or her resignation or unless the mayor and council notify the commission member at least sixty (60) days prior to the date of term renewal that the commission member's term will not be renewed.]"

Attorney Moore mentioned there would need to be a discussion, first and second readings and the new draft adopted for potential new members. Additionally, the item would need to be listed on the Agenda at such time.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 6:45 p.m.

Mayor Taylor Scarbrough	
Alderman John Clayton	Alderman Scott Stalnaker
Alderman Antonio Carter	Alderman Billy Retterbush
Alderman Walt Steward	Alderman Eric Gaither
ATTEST:	
Jackie Jordan, City Clerk	